Skip to main content Skip to footer content
Home About us

Corporate Governance

WLWA is governed by six councillors. One councillor is chosen by each of the boroughs (Brent, Ealing, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow and Richmond upon Thames). A Chair and Vice-Chair are elected by the six councillors at the General Meeting held in June each year.

The Authority’s Code of Corporate Governance is based on best practice recommendations published by CIPFA and Solace in December 2012. The code outlines how the Authority will demonstrate that it meets its obligations for good governance and a standard against which it can monitor its progress on an annual basis through the Annual Governance Statement, prepared as part of the Annual Accounts and subject to external audit.


Councillor Deirdre Costigan

Chair of West London Waste Authority & Deputy Leader of Ealing Council London Borough of Ealing

Councillor Julia Neden-Watts

Deputy Chair of West London Waste Authority & Chair of the Environment, Sustainability, Culture and Sports Services Committee London Borough of Richmond

Councillor Krupa Sheth

Lead Member for Environment London Borough of Brent

Councillor Anjana Patel

Portfolio Holder for Environment & Community Safety London Borough of Harrow

Councillor Eddie Lavery

Cabinet Member for Environment, Housing and Regeneration London Borough of Hillingdon

Councillor Guy Lambert

Lead Member for Highways, Recycling and Trading Companies London Borough of Hounslow

Chief Officers

Ian O’Donnell


Hugh Peart


Emma Beal

Managing Director


The agendas and papers for the meetings are published on the Harrow Council website one week before the meeting takes place. The minutes of the meetings are published approximately two weeks after the meeting.

The Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Meetings and Access to Information) (England) Regulations 2012 do not apply to the Authority as it is neither a local authority as defined in section 9R of the Local Government Act 2000 nor a joint Committee set up under the Local Authorities (Arrangements for Discharge of Functions) (England) Regulations 2012. Instead it is a joint waste authority created by the Waste Regulation and Disposal (Authorities) Order 1985 which was made under section 10 of the Local Government Act 1985.

Strategic Briefings

Audit Committee

The role of the Audit Committee is to support the Authority members in their responsibilities for issues of risk control and governance. The Audit Committee reviews the reliability, integrity and comprehensiveness of assurances provided to the Authority by the Treasurer and others. Minutes and agendas for this committee can be found on the Harrow Council website. The Committee includes six Councillors from the Boroughs and Robin Pritchard (Independent Member).

Code of Corporate Governance

There are several other documents set out how different functions operate within West London Waste Authority.